I.C.E. 2018

I.C.E. 2018

Last year, the international youth camp “Ice Climate Education”celebrated a small jubilee. The six-day journey on the Baltic Sea was the tenth such camp since the first camp for young people from over the world took place in 2007. Before the ten participants of the eleventh camp come together in July, the foundation in.media.vitae, from Iris and Alexander Hofmann, took over the “ICE-Camp” as a foundation project. Arved Fuchs and his team will, however, carry on with this project with regards to both content and operation.

As in the previousyear, the camp will take place this summer on board the “Ryvar” and will sail across the Danish Southern Seas. Starting at the Kiel Harbor, they will sail to Samsö and back to Flensburg. Altogether the ICE-Team will welcome ten participants on board the former herring-drifter. A secondary school in Nuremberg is involved for the first time. As in the previous years, the young people from different schools could qualify for the camp through a competition. The best projects from these schools were then rewarded with the participation to this year’s camp.

Once again a group of ten participants will travel to Kiel and sail, from the 4th to the 14th of July, on board the “Ryvar” across the Danish Southern Seas.

The Participants 2018:

  • Tabea Dix - Neues Gymnasium Nürnberg (Germany)
  • Pia Brombach - Gymnasium Westerland (Germany)
  • Jael Ketteler - Gymnasium Westerland (Germany)
  • Kärt Soiewa - Miina Härma Gymnasium Tartu (Estonia)
  • Oliver Oll - Miina Härma Gymnasium Tartu (Estonia)
  • Paula Erlacher - Sprachen- und Realgymnasium Bruneck (Italy)
  • Carole Berens - Athénée de Luxembourg (Luxembourg)
  • Michel Thimmesch - Athénée de Luxembourg (Luxembourg)
  • Xjuscha Antz - Schloss Bieberstein Hofbieber (Germany)
  • Lara Kindermann - Schloss Bieberstein Hofbieber (Germany)

The camp will begin in the Kiel Harbor with stops at Marstal and Kerteminde on the way to Samsö and then to Middelfart and back to Flensburg, where this year’s camp will then end. Besides a simulation game, there will be numerous speeches held by researchers on the themes of plastic waste, the fishing industry in the Baltic Sea, or on climate change in general. We are looking forward to greeting researchers from the Max-Planck- Institute in Hamburg, from the Thünen-Institute in Rostock, from the Leibniz-Institute for Baltic Sea Research in Warnemünde and from Geomar Kiel on board.

 

Sponsoren, Förderer & Partner

Seit dem 17.2.2018 ist die gemeinnützige in.media.vitae foundation der Projektträger des I.C.E. Camp. Weitere Informationen, auch zu weiteren Förderern des Projekts, finden Sie auf www.imv-foundation.org.

Veröffentlichung:

Sunday, 17. June 2018

I.C.E. 2018

I.C.E. 2018

Im vergangenen Jahr feierte unser internationales Jugendcamp "Ice Climate Education" ein kleines Jubiläum, die sechstägige Reise auf der Ostsee war die zehnte Auflage des im Jahre 2007 erstmalig durchgeführten Camps für Jugendliche aus aller Welt. Bevor sich im Juli erneut zehn Teilnehmer zum elften Camp zusammentreffen, hat die Stiftung in.media.vitae foundation von Iris und Alexander Hofmann das "ICE"-Camp als Stiftungsprojekt übernommen. Arved Fuchs wird das Projekt mit seinem Team jedoch weiterhin inhaltlich und operativ fortführen.

Wie bereits im Vorjahr wird das Camp auch in diesem Sommer auf der "Ryvar" stattfinden, erneut wird quer durch die dänische Südsee gesegelt. Vom Kieler Hafen aus geht es bis nach Samsø und zurück nach Flensburg. Insgesamt begrüßt das ICE-Team wieder zehn Jugendliche an Bord des ehemaligen Heringsloggers, wobei erstmalig ein Gymnasium aus Nürnberg involviert ist. Wie schon in den Vorjahren konnten sich Jugendliche diverser Schulen für das Camp über einen Wettbewerb qualifizieren. Die besten Projektarbeiten an den Schulen wurden mit einer Teilnahme am diesjährigen Camp belohnt.

Erneut werden insgesamt zehn Teilnehmer nach Kiel reisen, um vom 4. bis 14. Juli an Bord der "Ryvar" durch die dänische Südsee zu segeln.

Die Teilnehmer 2018:

  • Tabea Dix - Neues Gymnasium Nürnberg (Deutschland)
  • Pia Brombach - Gymnasium Westerland (Deutschland)
  • Jael Ketteler - Gymnasium Westerland (Deutschland)
  • Kärt Soiewa - Miina Härma Gymnasium Tartu (Estland)
  • Oliver Oll - Miina Härma Gymnasium Tartu (Estland)
  • Paula Erlacher - Sprachen- und Realgymnasium Bruneck (Italien)
  • Carole Berens - Athénée de Luxembourg (Luxemburg)
  • Michel Thimmesch - Athénée de Luxembourg (Luxemburg)
  • Xjuscha Antz - Schloss Bieberstein Hofbieber (Deutschland)
  • Lara Kindermann - Schloss Bieberstein Hofbieber (Deutschland)

Starten wird das Camp im Hafen von Kiel. Über Marstal und Kerteminde geht es zur Insel Samsö, zurück über Middelfart nach Flensburg, wo das diesjährige Camp enden wird. Neben einem Planspiel wird es wieder zahlreiche Vorträge von Wissenschaftlern zu Themen wie Plastikmüll, Fischerei in der Ostsee oder dem Klimawandel im Allgemeinen geben. Wir freuen uns, Wissenschaftler vom Max-Planck-Institut Hamburg, vom Thünen-Institut Rostock, vom Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde und vom Geomar Kiel an Bord begrüßen zu können.

 

Sponsoren, Förderer & Partner

Seit dem 17.2.2018 ist die gemeinnützige in.media.vitae foundation der Projektträger des I.C.E. Camp. Weitere Informationen, auch zu weiteren Förderern des Projekts, finden Sie auf www.imv-foundation.org.

Veröffentlichung:

Donnerstag, 14. Juni 2018